Click on one of the
headings below :
Even if it is considered,
rightly, like one of the top-places of the inheritance ardéchois,
the ruins of the fortress of Crussol are related above all on the
valley of the Rhone and the landscape valentinois. They occupy the
top of a piton of rocks limestones (the "mountain of Crussol"
3 km is long.) who culminates with 400 meters. A steep slope of
250 meters ensures the fortress an impressive natural protection.
of the castle begins in XIIème century, under the reign of
a lord named Gerald Bastet but the name of Crussol (Cruciolo, in
Latin) is mentioned as of Xème century in the cartulaire
of the Abbey of Chaffre Saint. The whole of the ruins gather, on
3 hectares, the village (the Villette), large of a hundred houses
to the shelter behind a first rampart and the castle itself. Property
of the family of Uzès, the residence seigneuriale will cease
being inhabited in XVème century (one will préfèrera
then to him the castle of Uzès, more comfortable). At the
time of the wars of religion, the site finds its military utility:
invested by the Protestants in 1573, it will be consolidated and
the refitted fortifications. The Catholics will come however to
end and it will be finally shaven at the XVIIème century.
Work of restoration has been undertaken for a few years and the
visit makes it possible to discover a fabulous medieval unit.
Text of Gerard