History of the castle
Robert, brother of
the king Louis VII, repurchases towards the end of XIIe century
the ground of Fère to the archbishops of Rheims. His/her
son, Robert II, Count de Dreux and of Braine, husband of Yolande
de Coucy, start to build the fortress in 1206.
It develops a courtine
regularly flanked turns on a high artificial mound. It is about
the first fortress known without keep. It will be noted that the
turns, openings of archères presents at the level of their
footings three, four or five beds whose bases form true teeth of
gears (provision unique in France).
March 23, 1395, Fère
is bought by Louis of Orleans. After the assassination of the prince
in 1407, his captain, Alardin de Monzay defend the castle against
the English until 1424.
François Ier, grandson of Jean of Orleans, inherits the field
about 1514. He makes gift of it, in 1528, with the Constable Anne
de Montmorency. But work which transforms the fortress into more
pleasant residence still lasts in 1539.
feature of the castle of Fère is its bridge gallery, thrown
between 1555 and 1560 per Jean Bullant on the order of the Constable.
This gallery on floor was richly decorated and was useful for the
In 1632, Louis XIII
fact of decapitating Henri II of Montmorency in Toulouse. Its confiscated
goods are allotted to Henri II of Bourbon, prince de Condé.
In 1752, Louise Henriette de Bourbon brings them in dowry to Louis-Philippe
of Orleans. Their son, Philippe-Equality, make demolish the castle.
The materials are allocated for 16400 pounds in 1779.
The castle has been
the subject today of restoration for several years.